13 Additional Countries Sign Nagoya Protcol

On September 20, 2011, thirteen countries signed the Nagoya Protocol on Access to Genetic Resources and the Fair and Equitable Sharing of Benefits Arising from their Utilization to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Press Release, Key UN protocol on Biodiversity receives another 13 signatories. Representatives of Serbia, Belgium, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, the Dominican Republic, France, Greece, Palau, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, Romania and Tajikistan signed the protocol at a special ceremony at the United Nations headquarters in New York.

The Nagoya Protocol is a side agreement to the Convention on Biological Diversity and has the goal of promoting a more equitable sharing of the planet’s genetic resources and their benefits. Adopted in October 2010, the Protocol will enter into force 90 days after it has been ratified by 50 countries. The signatures added on September 20 bring the total number of signatory states to 55. However, to date, none of the signatory countries has taken the next step of ratifying the protocol.

Print Friendly
www.pdf24.org    Send article as PDF   
This entry was posted in Agricultural Law, Intellectual Property Law, Science Policy. Bookmark the permalink.